Squier Tom Delonge Signature Strat
Squier Tom Delonge Signature Strat

I first became acquainted with this guitar when in 1999. My brother Justin and I snuck out of bed and watched the video for “What’s My Age Again?” by Blink 182 on VH1’s Top 20 Countdown. Here’s a shot of Mark, Tom and Travis naked:

What's My Age Again
“What’s My Age Again?” by Blink 182

Delonge’s iconic guitar was a single pot Strat with one humbucker, usually in surf green. That’s the Fender model in the photo, but the Squier is almost identical. Delonge’s Fenders held either a black or white Seymour Duncan SH-8 Invader, while the Squier houses a Duncan Design Detonator. I’ve been pretty prejudiced toward Duncan Design pickups in the past but the Detonator sounds pretty much spot on like an Invader for $30.

I routinely use my Squier Delonge as a backup for rock gigs.. Here are some of my modifications:

  • re-shielded the pickup cavity
  • replaced the stock machines with Schaller M6 locking tuners
  • new 250k pot
  • new hardware, strap locks & speed knob
  • Switchcraft input jack, flipped inside out (because Fender’s recessed jacks kill my 1/4″ cables)

The style of playing that I use this guitar for lends itself to me using a lot of downstrokes and palm-muting.. The knob is super close to the bridge and I found that I was turning down the volume while I played. So to increase the resistance, I fit a rubber gasket between the knob and the pot.. Problem solved.

The Squier has a super fast maple neck and light, alder body. The Detonator is high output and perfect for ’90s punk rock. But with no tone control, is kind of single-faceted. To be fair, if you’re playing ’90s punk rock, you probably don’t need a tone knob.

